UC Davis
Symphony Orchestra

"Love, Jazz, and Sailors"

UC Davis |Symphony OrchestraUC Davis |Symphony Orchestra
Jackson Hall, Mondavi Center

Christian Baldini, music director and conductor

Bernstein: Times Square 1944 from
the Dance Suite from On the Town

Copland: Piano Concerto, with Andrei Baumann

Mahler: Symphony No. 5

$12 Students and Children, $24 Adults (Assigned Seating)

The UC Davis Symphony Orchestra opens its 60th season on Nov. 18 with “Love, Jazz and Sailors,” featuring works by Bernstein, Copland, and Mahler.

This concert is dedicated to the memory of Eldridge Moores, world-renowned geologist, former President of the Geological Society of America, Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Geology at UC Davis, who dedicated 28 years of his life to playing cello with the UC Davis Symphony Orchestra. 

The concert is conducted by Christian Baldini, Barbara K. Jackson Professor of Music, Orchestral Conducting, and includes Leonard Bernstein’s Times Square Ballet from the Broadway musical On the Town, Gustav Mahler’s Symphony No. 5, and Aaron Copland’sPiano Concerto with Andrei Baumann as guest soloist.

“The program’s title takes its cue from the works themselves,” said Baldini. “’Love’ refers to Mahler’s Fifth Symphony that includes the Adagietto, which is the most gripping love letter ever written in music. Mahler wrote it for his wife, Alma, who, he suspected, was having an affair. Copland’s Piano Concerto is ‘Jazz.’ Written only two years after Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue, the piece is rarely performed, but is just as brilliant. ‘Sailors’ comes from the Times Square Ballet, which includes the famous theme ‘New York, New York, It’s a wonderful town,’ originally sung by three enthusiastic sailors having fun in the city.”

Soloist Andrei Baumann has performed extensively in the United States, Europe, Canada, and Venezuela. He made his Carnegie Hall debut at Weill Recital Hall in May 2008. Other notable performances include Sundays Live Concert Series at Los Angeles County Arts Museum, the Crocker Art Museum Classical Music Series, Caramoor Festival, and the Perlman Music Program with Itzhak Perlman. 

“In celebration of the orchestra’s sixtieth anniversary, the season reflects our goals of inclusion, diversity and equality,” Baldini said.

The season features works by two important female composers Ruth Crawford-Seeger and Ann Cleare and music from Latin America including compositions by composer and UC Davis music professor Pablo Ortiz, Ginastera, Piazzolla, and Esteban Benzecry.  

The orchestra will also perform major classics such as Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 9 and Bartok’s Concerto for Orchestra. Guest artists include international soloist Anssi Karttunen, who performs the world premiere of the revised version of Peter Lieberson’s Cello Concerto, and Rising Stars Eunghee Cho, a Davis native, and Tatjana Ross performing Brahms’s Double Concerto.

The UC Davis Symphony Orchestra is one of the most forward-looking university orchestras in the country, and is committed to presenting repertoire from different periods and styles at the highest artistic level. Members (currently about 90) are chosen by live audition, and include undergraduate and graduate students, faculty, staff, and community members. Established in 1959, the orchestra has performed in many cities in Northern California, as well as internationally (France, Australia, Spain).

The concert takes place at Jackson Hall in the Robert and Margrit Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts at 7 p.m.

Tickets are $24 for adults and $12 for students and youth and are available at the Mondavi Center Ticket Office in person or by calling 530-754-2787 during 12-6 p.m., Monday through Saturday. Tickets are also available online at mondaviarts.org.

For more information about the College of Letters and Science’s Department of Music and future performances, visit http://arts.ucdavis.edu/music.

Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts, Davis, CA
Photo Gallery

Christian Baldini and UC Davis Symphony Orchestra Rehearse “Love, Jazz and Sailors”

Rehearsals have begun for the UC Davis Symphony Orchestra’s opening concert in their sixtieth season. The uniquely titled program, “Love, Jazz and Sailors,” features works by Leonard Bernstein, Aaron Copland, and Gustav Mahler. Associate Professor Christian Baldini, the symphony orchestra’s music director and conductor, has started rehearsals for the concert, set for Nov. 18. Photographer Justin Han was there for a recent rehearsal in Jackson Hall at the Robert and Magrit Mondavi Center for the Performing Arts. All images copyright UC Regents.


View all UCD Arts departments and programs






Cinema and Digital Media






and Dance


Performance Studies






UC Davis Arts