GENERAL EDITING TIPS
ARTS WEBSITE GUIDE
General Tips – Logging in, Bulk changes, Redordering, Archiving and deleting posts etc.
1. How to log in: http://arts.ucdavis.edu/general-information/how-log-existing-user
2. The ‘Show Content Zones’ button on the bottom right corner of the page shows you the post types of a section and gives you an easy way to reorder and add posts.
‘Show Content Zones’ button turned off
‘Show Content Zones’ button turned on
Click on it again to turn it off.
3. When you are editing a post, make sure you always have the ‘Advanced Mode’ button at the bottom right corner of your screen turned on (this button only appears when you are in the editing mode). Turning it on will allow you to view and use options/features not available otherwise.
4. Make sure to reorder lists after something has been added or changed; most recently updated or created posts are usually automatically placed at the top (unless it is an events page, in which case the order is chronological).
a) If it is a group of profiles or courses, automatically reorder alphabetically by clicking on the ‘Title’ header on the reordering page.
i) Alumni profiles are manually ordered chronologically, so make sure to relocate profiles in their respective places after creating or editing one.
b) In general, note the list order beforehand and order new or edited elements accordingly.
5. For bulk changes, click on the ‘Command’ button on the bottom left corner and then click on ‘Manage content’. Next to the ‘Manage Content’ tab, click the ‘Advanced’ tab (shown below).
a) You can filter your search by filling out the necessary fields. All of the results can be selected at once by clicking on the circled check mark below or they can be selected individually.
b) Click on ‘Choose an operation’ and choose a menu entry from the drop-down menu to perform that operation on the selected posts. It’s best to get help from an experienced user the first few times you try this.
6. Archive, don’t delete! If you choose to permanently delete a post, you cannot recover it and you cannot undo the deletion, so make sure to double-check before permanently deleting any posts. Always Archive, don’t delete. If you archive a post by mistake we can open the Revisions tab and restore it from an earlier version. If you delete, there is no going back.
7. Archiving vs. Untagging: If there is a related person tagged to a post and the post is outdated, but the related person still wants it to show up on their profile, untag the post from all pages instead of archiving it. This way the post still appears under the related person’s profile, whereas archiving the post will delete it from the profile.
a) The post will still show up in searches even if it is archived or untagged.
b) Check the “archive on” date when you publish a post, especially if you cloned another post. You may want to change the date.
8. Change the post type: Sometimes you may need to change the post type. Often there will be one image before an event, then somebody will send more. If there are multiple images for a post, try changing the post type to ‘Photo gallery’. The images will display much better this way.
This will create a photo gallery with all the images (left). Otherwise, the images will simply be displayed in order (right).